BLOOD ON MY HANDS

In the skin of a killer’s child…

I run to my folk
As he comes in from work
But he’s got this smell
It’s new to me, I can’t tell.

My hug he won’t receive
Maybe his hand he will give
The shake is quick and wet
And before I realize it’s too late…
I got blood on my hands.

I see more on his tools
Maybe I’ll never know whose
But I can guess how many lives he took
From the shame in his look
And they think I didn’t understand
Coz I didn’t take a stand.

Now he’s been forgiven
Not that the victims were forgotten
Nor that their memory was erased
But the hope that someday they’ll be raised
And the wounds have now healed
As Rwanda keeps moving ahead.

I still have blood on my hands
To tell the world of our story
And show them proof of our victory
Over the past we once lived
Even if it might not be believed.

 

Corneille MBARUBUKEYE

Leave a comment